2:55 PM

I started watching Dune (2021) today. I like the heavy contrast in the light, but the colors bore me. I have it paused on a shot of the Baron right now, almost 47 minutes in. I like the 1984 version more so far. Personally, I don't like seeing familiar faces when it comes to actors. There's a point where a human being becomes a pop culture icon, they're not human anymore, they're just a thing on a screen to make fun of. This is how I feel about Timothee Chalamet and his xbox controllers. Jason Momoa and his dialogue in this movie. Zendaya and her Meechee. Oscar Isaac and his gender politics. Bautista and his wrestling and his Marvel. I just get sucked out of the story. The thing is, Dune (1984) still has this phenomenon, but I hardly noticed it. Kyle Maclachlan stood out like a sore thumb, but he looked so feminine and pretty that it kept me subsided. Sting looked so different that I couldn't decide whether it was him or not. Patrick Stewart was just Picard in that movie, though. I liked him a lot, for what it was worth. That reminds me, I much prefer the jello cube shields from the 1984 version. The 2021 version is much less captivating and much less funny. Dune isn't supposed to be a funny story, and I get that, but I want there to be noticable things wrong with a movie when I watch it. The character Jack Nance played just seemed like a precursor to Pete from Twin Peaks. He certainly didn't move like that in Eraserhead. I liked the role David Lynch played in Dune. Him being a cute little spice miner was fun. It gave me an opportunity to do my David Lynch impression to my friends on call. Everett McGill is another David Lynch actor, but his style was so alien to the northwestern casual attire he usually wears. But at this point, I'm just naming names. The 1984 movie was very entertaining to me, and going in I intended just to have it on in the background, but it kept hoarding my attention all to itself. It's also shorter than the new one. I'm not excited to sit through the other ~100 minutes. One thing I did not like period was the rock theme that played when Paul took that worm and during the credits. I don't want to, but I find myself hating 80s rock more than any music genre. I've grown to hate it randomly. I can barely stomach that 80s synth rock pop sound even with my favorite bands like Yes and Santana. There's other music though, so it's fine.

1:47 PM

My step-dad's dad died this morning. I recieved the news from my baby brother, "Did you know that Grandpa died?" I had to ask him to clarify. I didn't know the guy at all. I went to their house once and played with their dog. I must have been 7 by then because it was in West Virginia. I'm not sure what kind of man he was. I have a feeling he wasn't perfect, but I feel sad I didn't get to know him before he died. I think it's the hormones making me sad. I can't really remember what he looks like at all. I can remember my dad's parents and my mom's parents still talk with us fairly often. My step-dad's family is a mystery to me. I'm really hungry right now. He's making hot dogs for me right now but really I want a turkey sandwich. I suppose that's fine though. He doesn't seem very sad about it, but I think that's how men tend to act.

3:09 PM

I've been trying to figure out what fonts to use, because I'm not the biggest fan of the default Zonelets look. It's fine, but I want something that looks like the inside of my brain. The problem is there are no fonts in my brain. Nothing readable at least. I really have a hard time wrangling and controlling my imagination in any visual way. I can do anything I want mechanically, but nothing pretty. It's not really under my control in any aesthetic regard. My mind assumes the ugliest when it comes to visualizing anything. Very very strange. About as strange as my prophetic dreams.

6:46 PM

Thinking about so much right now. I love it in movies when a character is calling someone, typically teen girls, and one character is like "I'm gonna put you on hold one second" and another shot comes on screen with another character on the phone, and it starts a chain of phone calls all happening at the same time with a grid of my friends on the screen. I'm really sad about my step-dad's dad's death. It makes me want to visit and talk with all of my grandparents while they're still here. I'm installing Windows 11 on my laptop right now. I'm excited to see what it's like. My desktop doesn't seem like it's eligible yet, if ever. I'm watching my baby brother right now and I'm on the phone with my mom. There was something else that I forgot. April is feeling so bad right now and it makes my heart cry and bleed and sputter and throw the fuck up. She insists she's getting better though. I wish we had better food. I want fresh meat and veggies instead of freezer food like fish sticks and tater tots even though they taste very good. I feel like the grease and massive amounts of carbs are going to kill me. I'm craving protein and fiber like no tomorrow. Every time I talk about that death it's hard to keep talking. I could cry about it if I wanted to. I apparently met him a second time a few years ago. I still can't remember his face though.

8:24 PM

I watched the last half of Batman Forever with my friends Spencer and David. This is the 2nd time I've watched the ending of that movie. I haven't seen the first hour. Kiss from a Rose by Seal saved me. I would fuck the shit out of Jim Carrey Riddler's ass even though I'm a lesbian.